The Barrow County Schools Transportation Department makes available school bus service for more than 12,000 students enrolled in Barrow County Schools who reside in the school district of the school they are attending. School transportation is provided in conformance with pupil transportation policies and procedures established by the State Board of Education and the Barrow County Board of Education.

To learn more about school transportation, please click here to view the Barrow County School System Department of Transportation website.

Safe Routes to School

What is Safe Routes to School (SRTS)?

Safe Routes to School (SRTS) is a new federal program, created in SAFETEA-LU, to enable children, including those with disabilities, to walk and bicycle to school; to make walking and bicycling to school safer and more appealing; and to facilitate the planning, development and implementation of projects that will improve safety and reduce traffic, fuel consumption and air pollution in the vicinity of K-8 grade schools.

As part of SRTS, Yargo Elementary School is promoting health and personal safety through education as well as many campus activities; however we will not be promoting walking and bicycling to school until a safe infrastructure (sidewalks, crosswalks, etc.) is in place.

If you are interested in joining our SRTS Team, please contact our Parent Volunteer Coordinator at 770-867-1147.

Learn More About Health and Safety!

Atlanta Bicycle Campaign
Clean Air Campaign
Bike Safety
KidsHealth Bike Safety
Live Healthy Georgia
CDC Physical Activity
Walking to and From School