Four Middle School Students REACH for a Brighter Future

Reach Scholar Announcement

The future just got brighter for students named as Barrow County School System’s 2020 REACH Scholars. REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) Georgia is the State of Georgia’s first needs-based mentorship and college scholarship program.

The Barrow County School System REACH Scholars for 2019-2020 are:

  • Jadyn Franklin, Bear Creek Middle School
  • Trinity Johnson, Haymon-Morris Middle School
  • Jayelan Ausby, Russell Middle School
  • Jada Aldrich, Westside Middle School

2019-2020 Reach Scholars

There were smiles, happy tears, cheering, hugs, and high fives, as students found out they had been chosen as REACH Scholars. The most joyous remarks were heard when the students surprised their parents with a phone call to share the good news!

Preparations are under way for the official REACH Georgia Signing Day at the Professional Development Center on October 23. This is the fifth group of scholars to be chosen in Barrow County. The first group of REACH scholars will be graduating this spring in the class of 2020 and have been invited to speak at the Signing Day event.

REACH Georgia is a key tenet in the state’s Complete College initiative. Scholars are paired with a mentor and an academic coach through high school. They must maintain good behavior, grades and attendance, and graduate from high school.

Scholars who successfully complete the program are awarded a $10,000 scholarship that can be used at any HOPE eligible college in Georgia. Many colleges are matching or double-matching these funds. The scholarship is awarded in addition to any other grant or scholarship the student receives.



This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.