Skip to Main Content

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

2020 Spelling Bee

BCSS Spelling Bee Champion KJ Long

After 20 exciting rounds, the 2020 Barrow County School System Spelling Bee ended with Russell Middle School 7th grader KJ Long correctly spelling the word "hurriedly" to become the champion! KJ will represent RMS and the Barrow County School System at the District 3 competition on Saturday, Feb. 22, 2020. The District 3 Bee will take place at Discovery High School.

The runner-up is Keely Schmook, a 6th grader at Haymon-Morris Middle School. If KJ is unable to compete in the District 3 competition, Keely will take his place as the BCSS representative.

District Spelling Bee Winner and Runner-Up

Congratulations to our 2020 school level Spelling Bee champions! 


School Winner


AES Corbin Marcal

Jaedon Smith

BES Chandler Ostafin

Ella Feggeler

BRES Adriel Raymond

Celeste Still

CLES Gage Harden

Jackson Kaul

HES Daniela Mondragon-Hernandez

Jasmine Bevard

KES Jonah Yang

Cameron Thao

SES Isabelle Stokes

Aleeiah Kinney

WES Juan Aguinaga

Trenton Bridges

YES T.J. Lee

Adalee Osiecki

AIM Luca Jauregui

Weston Ridgeway

BCMS Alex Mercer

Angel Mondragon-Hernandez

HMMS Keely Schmook

Michael Lowery


Leila Edwards

WMS Melisa Flores

Ta’janah Marshall

School Spelling Bee Winners

Special thanks to the following groups and individuals for their participation and support.

  • Spelling Bee sponsors – the GA Association of Educators and the Barrow County Association of Educators
  • All School level Spelling Bee coordinators
  • Spelling Bee Judges - Meggan McNally, Lynn Stevens & Paul Benvenuto
  • Spelling Bee Announcer  - Matt Thompson
  • Dr. Angela Moton and Dr. Ken Greene

Also, thank you to the many individuals who provided invaluable assistance - along with all the teachers, families, and administrators who support these remarkable students!

Upcoming Events

September 29

BOE Work Session

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

October 6

BOE Meeting

6:00 PM - 8:00 PM