2022 "Yes I Can" Awards

Yes I Can Award Celebration

Congratulations to our 2022 "Yes I Can" Award winners! The special event celebrated 18 exceptional students at the Innovation Amphitheater on May 18. University of Georgia’s Hairy Dawg was there to cheer them on as they were introduced and awarded. The event also featured special music from Anslee Davidson and former NFL player Adrian Peterson as the guest speaker. He spoke about overcoming stuttering as a child and answered questions from the audience. His book “Don’t Dis My Abilities” shares his story.

Chosen from over 2,500 students in Barrow County, each of the school winners were nominated by teachers and selected to represent their school based on outstanding accomplishments. The "Yes I Can" award is modeled after the state and national award given by the Council for Exceptional Children. Any student in Barrow County who has an IEP was eligible for this award.


It was an honor to celebrate our Champions!

Tyson Randle
Shawn Brown
Ethan Valazquez
Abi Dover
Sariah Crance
Adam Sturgeon
Karli Porter
Jonah Hayes
Addison Thibodeaux
Daniel Corrales
Sonja Van Sice
Santiago Valadez
Markees Jackson
Georgia Miller
Shawnee Turner
Lyndon Tubbs
Chann Quezada
Kimberly Adams

Auburn Elementary
Bethlehem Elementary
Bramlett Elementary
County Line Elementary & District Elementary Winner
Holsenbeck Elementary
Kennedy Elementary
Statham Elementary
Winder Elementary
Yargo Elementary
Arts & Innovation Magnet
Bear Creek Middle
Haymon-Morris Middle
Russell Middle
Westside Middle
Apalachee High & District Middle and High School Winner
Barrow Arts & Sciences Academy
Sims Academy
Winder-Barrow High


This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.