2024 "Yes I Can" Awards Ceremony

Yes I Can Awards Ceremony 2024

Congratulations to our 2024 "Yes I Can" Award winners! The 14th annual event was held at Chateau Elan on Thursday, April 25. The ceremony recognized 18 exceptional students from Barrow County Schools.

Chosen from over 2,500 students in Barrow County, teachers nominated and selected each of the school winners based on their outstanding accomplishments. The "Yes I Can" award is modeled after the state and national award given by the Council for Exceptional Children. Any student in Barrow County who has an IEP is eligible.

District Elementary School Winner: Orlando Melendez Jr.
District Middle/High School Winner: Autumn Johnson

See all of our school-level winners, event photos, and our generous sponsors below!



Congratulations to our 2024 School Award Recipients!

Gavin Marcal - Auburn Elementary

Jenni Anne - Austin Road Elementary

Brandon Perez Ramirez - Bethlehem Elementary

Tracy Beck - Bramlett Elementary

Orlando Melendez Jr. - County Line Elementary

Sariah Crance - Holsenbeck Elementary

Esteban Lopez - Kennedy Elementary

Nahomy Aguilar - Statham Elementary

Bobby Hollingsworth - Winder Elementary

Mason Smith - Yargo Elementary

Jacob Brown - Arts & Innovation Magnet

Mexy Martinez - Bear Creek Middle

Cassidy Hawthorne - Haymon-Morris Middle

Addai Smith - Russell Middle

William Cariker - Westside Middle

Autumn Johnson - Apalachee High

Madisyn Bowman - Barrow Arts & Sciences Academy

Ezekiel Griner - Winder-Barrow High


Thank you to all of those who supported the 2024 Yes I Can Awards!

  • Premier Sponsor: Chateau Elan

  • Diamond Sponsors: Akins Ford and Republic Services

  • Platinum Sponsors: Dr. Kenneth and Susan Greene

  • Gold Sponsor: ArtsNow

  • Bronze Sponsors: Northeast Georgia Medical Center Barrow, Barrow County Farm Bureau, Yargo Elementary, Winder Elementary, Apalachee High, Russell Middle, Bear Creek Middle, CFIT, Barrow Arts & Sciences Academy, Haymon-Morris Middle, Auburn Elementary, Kennedy Elementary, Bramlett Elementary, Bethlehem Elementary, Austin Road Elementary, Harry and Janet Butcher, Michael and Traci Pruett

  • Friend: Barrow County Health Department, Bethlehem Church, Peach State Federal Credit Union, Ms. Jennifer Houston

Thank you to all staff who contributed to the Jeans Fundraiser. Another special thank you to Chateau Elan for hosting the ceremony.

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.